Baked Yogurt Doughnuts

chocolate doughnuts
This recipe is a complete accident, which I am very proud of because usually the best inventions tend to be accidents – I even hear the first chocolate chip cookies were an accident.  The week before this recipe was born I was introduced to baked doughnuts by one of my favorite blogs , The Faux Martha  ,  because she makes them sort of often. I turned to my trusty friend, Pinterest, to understand how this mystical and magical idea of a baked doughnut was anything less than a doughnut shaped cupcake and really that’s pretty much the foundation of this treat. The truth is that yes, this is just a doughnut shaped cupcake because a doughnut is made of a similar batter. It is what it is. The trick and the identity of this dessert though is what’s on top. I’ve made blood orange poppy seed, vanilla bean, chocolate, lavender, early grey, and even lavender and earl grey varieties in the past.
The last time I posted a picture on Instagram of my doughnuts I tested the waters in the caption and offered to give the recipe to anyone who wanted it and the response was HUGE! I even had one company ask me about it since in one variation I had used one of their products.
 I had seen a lot of people use a baked doughnut recipe with sour cream, like many other baked treats, but I am not huge on the idea of dairy so I didn’t just HAVE sour cream and butter on hand – what I had was yogurt and ghee (I am a Bulletproof coffee nerd). The rest is history I suppose. If you use this recipe I encourage you to leave a comment telling me what you think.

Takes: 25 minutes

Makes: 12
Ingredients:
  • 1 cup yogurt (dairy, almond, coconut, soy – whatever!)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 tbsp melted ghee (clarified butter)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • Dash of cinnamon (optional)
  • 2 tsp pink Himalayan sea salt
Tools: 
  • Doughnut pan like this one that I have here
  • Piping bag
Preheat your oven to 350° F
Now mix all dry ingredients on medium with your mixer.
Next, add in all the wet ingredients little by little to make sure it gets mixed in with the dry ingredients evenly. Depending on the thickness of your yogurt you may want to add a little water to make the dough much thicker than pancake batter but less thick than cookie dough…toothpaste consistency?
Put all the dough in a bag to pipe around the doughnut mold to fill each mold 3/4 of the way.
Bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden.
Let cool on a cooling rack and drizzle on whichever glaze you’d like! I suggest melting dark chocolate chips with coconut oil in the microwave to drizzle on!

2 Replies to “Baked Yogurt Doughnuts”

Leave a comment